Rapid Response for Rhinos LIVE Event

Saturday 18 July 2020

STREAMING LIVE ACROSS SOCIAL MEDIA

Saturday 18th July - 18:00 BST

With the wizardry of technology, UK charity Helping Rhinos are offering a unique experience to follow TV wildlife vet Dr William Fowlds from Channel 4’s ‘Work On The Wild Side’ and his team as they carry out essential health checks on three year old Colin, second calf born to Thandi, the world famous poaching survivor at Kariega Game Reserve in South Africa’s Eastern Cape.  

Dr Fowlds and Kariega Foundation Director, Lindy Sutherland will transport viewers to the South African bush for this exclusive online rhino encounter. The event will include a controlled de-horning of Colin, a sad but necessary poaching deterrent that Dr Fowlds and Lindy will explain in detail during the procedure. 

In association with Kariega Foundation and African Rhino Conservation Collaboration (ARCC), the Rapid Response for Rhinos exclusive online experience, will be streaming live across Helping Rhinos’ social media platforms on:
Saturday 18th July at 19:00 SAST / 18.00 BST / 13:00 EDT / 10:00 PDT

Add 'Rapid Response for Rhinos' to your Calendar

Rapid Response for Rhinos

Immerse yourself in the occasion as if you were a part of the vet team by following all the action on our social media platforms:

  

  

"This is a valley that brings back incredibly difficult memories of the treatments on Colin's Mum, Thandi.  What strikes me every time I'm here is the contrast between this magnificent landscape and then the pain and suffering that endured in this very place.  I will never forget the gut wrenching emotions we all went through.

Now we are here carrying out a procedure that will protect her calf."

Dr William Fowlds
Wildlife Vet

  

  

You can help us to keep rhinos safe by bidding in our online auction

With your help we can raise urgently needed funding to support Will and his team as they carry out their life-saving protection procedures. We have some amazing artwork, gifts and exclusive experiences to bid for - something for everyone.
Auction ends on 19th July. 

View Auction Items

How Your support will help to protect rhinos

The future for rhinos remains perilous. Poaching is pushing them to very brink. It is imperative we hold on to current rhino strongholds, maintain a visible proactive deterrent and engage local people in the destiny of their wildlife heritage.

The challenge is, how we can protect vulnerable and critically endangered wildlife species, like the rhino and, make conservation of wildlife and wild places valuable to the everyday lives of poor people who see wildlife only to be eaten or poached for profit. There is a solution - click the button to find out more.

Find Out More